The following awards are presented annually at the Society for Melanoma Research Congress.

Submit a Nomination

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is presented to an individual who has made major and impactful contributions to melanoma research throughout their career.

Keith Flaherty

Keith Flaherty

2019 - Keith Flaherty, MD

2018 - Neal Rosen, MD, PhD

2017 - Julia Newton Bishop, PhD

2016 - Ze’ev Ronai, PhD

2015 - James P. Allison, PhD

2014 - Boris C. Bastian, MD, PhD

2013 - Glenn Merlino, PhD

2012 - Nicholas K. Hayward, PhD

2011 - David Fisher, MD

2010 - Meenhard Herlyn, DVM, DSc

2009 - Ruth Halaban, MD

Estela Medrano Memorial Award

This award was established in 2010 in memory of Estela Medrano. Estela was a leader in the study of TGFb-related signaling in melanoma as well as senescence. She was also an active participant in SMR activities and was about to become the new secretary/treasurer for SMR. Estela was tragically killed in an automobile accident in August 2010. Although originally given to the keynote lecturer at the Society for Melanoma Research annual international congress, in 2013, an ad hoc review committee recommended that specific consideration be given to a woman who has made major contributions in the fight against melanoma to fully honor Estela's memory.

Yardena Samuels

Yardena Samuels

2020 - Yardena Samuels, PhD

2019 - Sheri Holmen, PhD

2018 - Caroline Robert, MD, PhD

2017 - Marisol Soengas, PhD

2016 - Sancy Leachman, MD, PhD

2015 - Suzanne Topalian, MD

2014 - Lynda Chin, MD

2013 - Dorothy Bennett, PhD

2012 - Michael Stratton, MD, PhD

2011 - Richard Marais, PhD

2010 - Keith T. Flaherty, MD

Young Investigator Award

Now sponsored by the Melanoma Research Foundation this award is presented to an individual who is an independent researcher, in the junior stage (typically within first 5 years) of their career and who has made contributions in the area of melanoma research that significantly exceed the average for this career stage.

Stefani Spranger

Stefani Spranger

2020 - Stefani Spranger, PhD

2019 - Carmet Levy, PhD

2018 - A. Hunter Shain, PhD

2017 - Richard White, MD, PhD

2016 - Poulikos Poulikakos, PhD

2015 - Georgina Long, BSc, PhD, MBBS, FRACP

2014 - Jennifer A. Wargo, MD, MMSc

2013 - Roger Lo, MD, PhD

2006 - Pam Pollock and Ashani Weeraratna

Outstanding Research Award

Established in 2013 this award is presented to an individual or group for highly impactful, major discoveries in the field of melanoma within the last 5 years.

Chris Marine

Chris Marine

2019 - Chris Marine, PhD

2018 - Jennifer Wargo, MD, MMSc

2017 - Richard Marais, PhD

2016 - Marisol Soengas, PhD

2015 - Daniel Peeper, PhD

2014 - Levi A. Garraway, MD, PhD

2013 - Antoni Ribas, MD, PhD

Christopher J. Marshall

For Studies on Signal Transduction and Melanoma (In Partnership with the Melanoma Research Foundation)

Established in 2015 at the SMR congress in San Francisco, the Society for Melanoma Research in partnership with the Melanoma Research Foundation Congress established The Christopher J. Marshall Award For Studies on Signal Transduction and Melanoma. This award is presented to a student who has made substantial published and original contribution to studies of signal transduction and melanoma within the previous two years. The award’s focus on students, fellows or new PIs is in keeping with Chris Marshall’s dedication to mentoring and training new generations of cancer scientists.

David Olmeda

David Olmeda

2019 - David Olmeda, PhD

2018 - Vito Rebecca, PhD

2016 - Maria Romina Girotti, PhD

Discretionary Awards

The following awards are presented at the discretion of the Steering Committee for outstanding contributions by individuals or groups working closely with the Society for Melanoma Research in expanding education, sponsoring legislation and supporting the overall mission of SMR.

Skin Cancer Prevention Leadership Award

This award is given to an individual or group whose work has been at the forefront of skin cancer prevention.

Jeffrey E. Gershenwald

Jeffrey E. Gershenwald

2018 - Jeffrey E. Gershenwald, MD

2009 - Congresswoman Rosa L. DeLauro, CT

Partnership Award

This award is presented to individuals or groups that have provided outstanding support to the Society for Melanoma Research in the delivery of the organization's mission.

2009 - Melanoma Research Foundation
Accepted by Randy Lomax, President

Advocate for Progress

This award is presented to individuals or groups that have done outstanding work in advocacy or education for the advancement in the fight for melanoma prevention and treatment.

2012 - California State Senator Ted W. Lieu, California Society of Dermatology & Dermatologic Surgery, and AIM at Melanoma Foundation

2011 - Connie Mack III, United States Senate, FL

2009 - Marty Tenenbaum, PhD, Founder and Chairman, Cancer Commons