Discretionary Awards

The following awards are presented at the discretion of the Steering Committee for outstanding contributions by individuals or groups working closely with the Society for Melanoma Research in expanding education, sponsoring legislation and supporting the overall mission of SMR.

Awards are presented annually but nominations are accepted year round. Submission Deadline for 2023 is July1st.

Nomination form

Skin Cancer Prevention Leadership Award

This award is given to an individual or group whose work has been at the forefront of skin cancer prevention.

2018 - Jeffrey E. Gershenwald, MD

2009 - Congresswoman Rosa L. DeLauro, CT

Partnership Award

This award is presented to individuals or groups that have provided outstanding support to the Society for Melanoma Research in the delivery of the organization's mission.

2009 - Melanoma Research Foundation
Accepted by Randy Lomax, President

Advocate for Progress

This award is presented to individuals or groups that have done outstanding work in advocacy or education for the advancement in the fight for melanoma prevention and treatment.

2012 - California State Senator Ted W. Lieu, California Society of Dermatology & Dermatologic Surgery, and AIM at Melanoma Foundation

2011 - Connie Mack III, United States Senate, FL

2009 - Marty Tenenbaum, PhD, Founder and Chairman, Cancer Commons