Young Investigator Award

The Society for Melanoma Research in partnership with the Melanoma Research Foundation will present an annual award at the Society for Melanoma Research Congress. This award is presented to an individual who is an independent researcher, in the junior stage (typically within first 7 years) of their career and who has made contributions in the area of melanoma research that significantly exceed the average for this career stage.

Applications may be made by any trainee, whether an SMR member or non-member, who is currently affiliated with any institution involved in melanoma research, melanoma medicine, or melanoma-related biomedical science.

  1. Applications must consist of:
    1. Complete contact information for the applicant.
    2. The applicant’s full CV or Bio Sketch.
    3. A list, including Pubmed IDs, of the applicant’s published melanoma-relevant research manuscripts. In addition, PDFs of accepted manuscript(s) that are in press, including a confirmatory e-mail from the journal indicating that the manuscript is accepted for publication, are eligible. Papers that are under review or in preparation are not eligible for consideration.
    4. A maximum of two letters of recommendation, no longer than 2 pages in length/letter, one of which must be a formal letter of support from the applicant’s current or former mentor, which describe the applicant’s suitability for this prestigious award.
  2. Application period is May 1st – July 31st of each year.
  3. Applications will be evaluated by designated members of the SMR Awards committee with external assistance as required.
  4. Additional consideration may be given to current SMR members.
  5. The award will consist of an unrestricted honorarium of $5,000, a commemorative plaque and support for the awardee to attend the SMR Annual Congress.
  6. The awardee must be available to accept the award in person at the Society for Melanoma Research Congress.

Apply Here

SMR is dedicated to supporting diversity and inclusion for everyone. We encourage applications from any individual who is within 8 years of receiving their terminal degree and especially encourage those in underrepresented populations to apply for this award.