Estela Medrano Memorial Award

This award was established in 2010 in memory of Estela Medrano. Estela was a leader in the study of TGFb-related signaling in melanoma as well as senescence. She was also an active participant in SMR activities and was about to become the new secretary/treasurer for SMR. Estela was tragically killed in an automobile accident in August 2010. Although originally given to the keynote lecturer at the Society for Melanoma Research annual international congress, in 2013, an ad hoc review committee recommended that specific consideration be given to a woman who has made major contributions in the fight against melanoma to fully honor Estela's memory. The winner of this award is selected each year by the Local Organizing Committee. They are invited to be a speaker at the annual Congress.

Eva Hernando-Monge

Eva Hernando-Monge

2023 - Eva Hernando-Monge, PhD

2022 - Victoria Sanz-Moreno, PhD

2021 – Jennifer Wargo, MD, MMSc

2020 - Yardena Samuels, PhD

2019 - Sheri Holmen, PhD

2018 - Caroline Robert, MD, PhD

2017 - Marisol Soengas, PhD

2016 - Sancy Leachman, MD, PhD

2015 - Suzanne Topalian, MD

2014 - Lynda Chin, MD

2013 - Dorothy Bennett, PhD

2012 - Michael Stratton, MD, PhD

2011 - Richard Marais, PhD

2010 - Keith T. Flaherty, MD